witch name, witches, witch, witchcraft, magick, magic, titles

Guest Post: Self Determined Titles by Michael DeCamp

~~~Bloggers Note: Michael is a guest blogger here, chosen due to the number of years I have been blessed to know him and also for the verified potency of the “energy bombs” he sends to me. These bombs are sent both upon request, and occasionally, they are sneakily dropped on me simply because he feels my drain from half a continent away.

Michael is responsible for many interesting and helpful posts in the group I visit. The entire group has had many wonderful discussions thanks to his posts. He poses questions for thought, offers answers and insights on others’ questions. He shares knowledge gleaned from real life experiences. He is not a part of Sacred Hands Coven and I have never been graced to meet him IRL, but have been blessed to have him as a personal friend for a few years now online. Thanks for permission to post, Michael!~~~

 

As we go through this life, we come across words that hold meanings for us as individuals; meanings that differ from person to person.

Before my awakening, to me, magic was what I saw on TV and in movies. Merlin was a wizard of myth and legend, and magicians were tricksters. Later, I was made aware of Native American titles: Medicine (Wo)Men, Shamans, and Dream Warriors, each with special gifts.

After my awakening into the start of my path, I chose the title of healer. It was the first ability I worked on and studied. However, as I grew into my other abilities, the title I chose changed. I thought of myself as a magus, a sorcerer, enchanter, and even an adept.

The more I learned to do, the more my ‘identity’ changed, as my identity changed, so did my title. Again, these titles were self-defined. Determined as I saw how they fit me as a person.

Finally, eleven years after my first awakening to the spirit/occult/divine path, I came to my final title. My personal identifier. I had just stumbled upon my current path; a path of balance. It was during this reaffirmation of my beliefs and values that my personal title identifier changed to what it remains today. I am an Energy Weaver.

My gifts allow me to tap into multiple energy threads. I see different energies as different and distinct colors. I follow their courses through everything perceived. It is a very uncommon ability, apparently. I have discovered only a handful of individuals who relate to energies, and their uses, in the same manner.

This is who I am. This is my personal title.

I hope that others, through personal introspection and exploration, can find who they are. Perhaps you don’t need a title. Perhaps you identify with a title already. Whichever the case, as long as you are comfortable with whom you are within the mindset of magic and the occult; this is what matters most, in my opinion.

7 thoughts on “Guest Post: Self Determined Titles by Michael DeCamp

  1. Michael DeCamp is a dear soul that I too and blessed to have a friendship with. I would like to thank Mike for this great piece and especially Sacredhandcoven (Not sure if you want your name up so I am shut up about that lol) for sharing it.

    Like

    • Yes! Michael is amazing! As for me? Eh, call me Tee, call me Treehugger, call me Heather. I am pretty easy with it all. Was the youngest of seven and when mom got REALLY pissed at one of us, she started at the eldest surviving and just called names until she got to ours. I learned early, answer to everything… just easier for all concerned. 😉

      Like

  2. How can you be so sure it it the final title for you? You are still growing in your magic and knowledge every day I guess. So what if in a year or two it doesn’t fit anymore than calling yourself a healer now would?

    Like

What do you think? We are interested in your comments, feedback, questions and ideas!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.