Children, witchcraft for children, children and magick,

Witches’ Ethics: Children – To Teach or Not to Teach

It is a personal choice if a witch wishes to teach their children magick. Some witches raise their children in the family practice of witchcraft and some do not. It is a very personal choice and should be made with an eye to the child’s future and what the parent considers best for their individual child, or children, in particular.

Personally, Az and I allowed our children to know that we were practicing witches throughout their lives; they saw us practicing magick from very early ages, before they could even speak. They were allowed to watch rituals performed and spells cast throughout their lives while their father was alive and I have continued the traditional after Az crossed over in ‘99. Had Az lived, I am certain there would have been some very intense arguments, as I know he was eager to teach them from a young age to practice. However, I felt it best to wait and allow them their own choices once they reached the legal age of majority.

As the years passed, they have seen me cast several different spells: on behalf of themselves in nightmare banishing rituals, on behalf of others in healing rituals, in protection spells cast on our vehicle while they were inside, and on behalf of the animals, we pass on roads who have lost their lives, etc. I have refused to hide what I am from them, and though I cautioned them to remain silent about my craft to others when they were much younger, (I explained the prejudice some feel and how it could affect our family) however, for many years now, they have had my permission to “out” me to their friends if they wish.

Our eldest, now 19-years-old, has developed an interest in the practice of alchemy. Our twins, who will be 18-years-old in nine more days will choose at that time whether they wish to practice. If they wish to practice, they will gain access to my personal library, my knowledge, and guidance on their paths. If they choose not to practice, that, also, is their choice.

Others of our coven have chosen to raise their children in the craft. While I do not necessarily agree, I do respect their wishes and am currently in the works of crafting a new Yule ritual that will incorporate four of the children in the celebration as active participants. The children are eager to learn and as a result, they will take part in a limited manner suited to their individual ages.

If a person wishes to teach their children magick, there are many spells, which may be taught, depending upon their age, to help them increase their sensitivity in tune with their growing abilities. In the following weeks, I will be adding a few of the spells that I consider appropriate for children to the blog.

The first will be a spell that my children picked up from me, without my intention, which served them well in the intervening years. It is simple and it is the only one I have allowed my children to practice prior to reaching their age of majority.

Feel free to pass this spell and any others I share, on to your own children if you feel they are appropriate to your child’s needs.

7 thoughts on “Witches’ Ethics: Children – To Teach or Not to Teach

  1. Pingback: Which is the Right Path to Follow | Sacred Hands Coven

  2. Pingback: Witches’ Spell: Safe Traveling Spell/Hiding from the Police Spell | Sacred Hands Coven

  3. Pingback: Witches’ Ethics: Accountability is Paramount | Sacred Hands Coven

  4. Pingback: Witchery: Is Casting a Circle Necessary? | Sacred Hands Coven

  5. Pingback: Children’s Spell: Wish Magick Spell | Sacred Hands Coven

  6. Pingback: Children’s Spell: A Pet Protection Spell | Sacred Hands Coven

  7. Pingback: Children’s Spell: A Simple Spell for the Smallest of Us | Sacred Hands Coven

What do you think? We are interested in your comments, feedback, questions and ideas!

