Off-Topic: Heroes to Teens

I was reading through topics in one of our Facebook forums and a gentleman who is always very eloquent, thoughtful, and thought-provoking did it to me, again. He made a comment which got me to thinking about something I hadn’t thought about in recent years.

It is impossible to teach children to grow up to be decent human beings when their role models come from shows that glorify stupidity, selfishness, and rebellion.- K. A. W.

As such, I just had to make a proud mommy post about our three sons. After reading the entire missive to each one separately, I asked them who their role models/heroes were or who they wanted to be when they “grew up”. I got some surprising answers, I must admit.

Fiest asked was eldest twin. He thought about it for a moment, then made me cry when he said: “You… and maybe some fictional characters.” When asked for clarification on the fictional ones, he said he “admired, you know, like super heroes that are always fighting for people who need help and they are always doing what is right”.  Yeppers, a month away from 18 and he can still surprise me and make me cry with pride.

Second asked was youngest twin. He said: “Other than Tesla… I don’t know. Maybe just be the best me?” Wow. I never knew they were actually listening all those years as children that I was harping at them not to compare themselves to others, but just to be the best them they could be. Who knew kids listen to their moms? This son is always explaining how brilliant Nicola Tesla was for wanting to make the world a better place for everyone.

Third asked was eldest son, 19, who replied: “Hmm, maybe MLK. I have always liked him since I was just a little kid. Or maybe Gandhi? You know, someone fighting for people’s rights.”

Geesh. I have no idea when it happened but our precious little baby boys grew up to be thoughtful and sweet young men. I know I tried to teach them what was right and what was important in life, but with all the horror stories about kids out there, especially teenage boys, I never really thought it would actually work. I will just have to assume it was all the overwhelming “great man” DNA they got from their amazing father that helped to make the job so easy and successful. I know their dad would be so proud of them, I could feel him thinking it with every answer I got.

What do you think? We are interested in your comments, feedback, questions and ideas!

