Early Mirroring Experiences

The first time I mirrored, I was in my early twenties and had no idea it was related to the craft. It was described to me as a party trick. I was told that it would show me my future if I had “the nerve to try it”. Being a typical cocky 20-something, of course I had the nerve to try it!

At first I saw myself as I was, then the face began to become fuzzy looking, then to droop and age dramatically. Deep crevasses, not just wrinkles, but crevasses formed in the forehead, beside my mouth, between and from the corners of my eyes and they appeared darker than the rest of the skin, as if I was dirty, deep down dirty as if I had not bathed in years. The cheeks hung like jowls and I could see a wrinkled double chin. The hair was straggling out and down the sides of the face from what appeared to be a thick ponytail of steel gray frizz. The most frightening thing was the look in the eyes. They shone brightly, seemed to sparkle with some emotion I was too afraid to stay and identify. Then the face seemed to start melting away. That was the last straw, it frightened me and had me fleeing the mirror and refusing to try a second time.

I did not even remember it or try it again until almost a decade later, a few years after I began to study witchcraft, when an advanced witch from a local traditional group explained to us the proper way to “see” what the mirror was showing us, to control the flow of information, and to communicate with the mirror. His explanations made what had initially happened seem ridiculously funny after all those years.

A few of us tried it over the next couple of weeks. This time my results were not frightening since I knew what I was seeing and how to control the flow of visions. The original “crone” as I have learned to call her, returned first. She is now my favorite. The eyes were shining again and since I was not too afraid to look, I discovered it was warmth, compassion, intelligence and an age-old weariness, which made them gleam. Over many sessions, by looking into her eyes, I knew that she borne many children and yet lost them all. She lost her husband and her siblings in middle age. By the time I “met her” she had lost every family member. She was the last surviving member of her line, which explained the weariness. She had reached the end of her life alone. She had worked hard to support herself with her garden and chickens in her declining years. I do not know if she was a village wise woman, she never answers that, but for some reason I think she was not. I feel that she was fondly remembered among her villagers for her decades of helping others with spare food when people needed it, that her children, both sons and daughters had been well liked before their deaths, some as infants, and very small children as well as some still births. Some lived to be in their middle age before passing, at least one son, and one daughter. Two daughters died in childbirth or from pregnancies gone wrong. The grandchildren were few and all died young. The other son just disappeared, not confirmed dead, not seen leaving the village, just gone one day. She had an amazingly difficult life and yet she refused to give up and give in. Even when all were lost to her. I wonder sometimes, since meeting her, if this incarnation is not the one that caused me to decide at 19 that I did not want to have children or marry.

However, even after learning so much about “Crone” I was always skeptical of the results, I decided to “test” the process. I wanted verification that I was truly seeing what I thought, not that I was convincing myself that I was seeing something, though nothing had actually occurred. For the test, I chose two people who had known me for several months, but to whom I had not revealed what I saw when mirroring, to do a session with me. They were told where to sit, to stay out of the line of my vision and the mirror’s vision, but to sit where they could see my reflection in the mirror itself without me seeing them. Once I began, it was very easy to tune them out and just focus on the mirroring itself. After fifteen minutes, I stopped the process and they went into the front of the house. They sat in two separate rooms, Bonnie spoke to Dale; Spiritwind spoke to Az in order to report what, if anything, they had seen in the mirror. I continued for another ten minutes or so, to give them time to relate their accounts.

When I joined the group, who had assembled in the living room, there were the two pages of descriptions lying face down on the coffee table. I recounted the three figures I had seen while they were in the room, what I had noticed and felt about each one. I was very pleased and satisfied that the results proved demonstrative in that they recounted the exact same people I had seen for myself. The only variations were that Bonnie and Darwin had not felt anything until the one I commonly refer to as the “wooly booger” showed up. She said that one frightened her. Darwin had reported that he felt some very strong emotion pouring off that one as well, but could not define it as it kept shifting. I explained that he was an aboriginal person (feels like Australian) who was very juiced up for a hunt. I call him “wooly booger” because his hair is long, tangled, and wild, it looks like it has never been touched, his beard and mustache are full and wild as well, and all you can see of his face is the tops of his cheeks and his deeply wrinkled eyes. He is practically vibrating with excitement for the coming hunt. Up until that time, we had not tried to “piggyback” on each other’s visions while mirroring. From the details, they related on all three figures, it was obvious that we had a positive result.

4 thoughts on “Early Mirroring Experiences

  1. Pingback: Az First Mirroring | Sacred Hands Coven

  2. Pingback: Mirroring Technique | Sacred Hands Coven

  3. Thanks for the comment and ideas, saxtoncorner! We have had many good results from the mirroring and it is so much fun to introduce the practice to new people. It is exciting to hear of their results and their wonder when they describe the results. isn’t it?

    Like

  4. I love the mirroring techniques! Very useful in healing and soul retrievals. I’ve used it for animal and spirit guide communication as well as past life work with friends being your mirror – that one always proves interesting! 🙂

    Like

What do you think? We are interested in your comments, feedback, questions and ideas!

